Medical Advisory Committee


Dr. Ruth Ann Marrie
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine in Neurology, Associate Professor of Community Health Sciences, Epidemiologist, and MS Neurologist, University of Manitoba
Area of expertise: population patterns of MS, comorbidity, genetic and environmental risk factors


Dr. Nathalie Arbour
Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience, Université de Montréal Accredited Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, Université de Montréal
Area of expertise: Neuroimmunology and understanding T and B lymphocytes in multiple sclerosis, cell and molecular biology

Dr. Brenda Banwell
Professor of Neurology, Pediatric MS Neurologist, and Researcher, The Hospital for Sick Children and Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Area of expertise: pediatric MS and other inflammatory and demyelinating disorders

Dr. Timothy Coetzee
Chief Advocacy, Services, and Research Officer, National MS Society (U.S.)

Liaison Representative

Dr. Samuel David
Professor of Neurology and Neurosurgery and Basic Researcher, McGill University
Area of expertise: cellular and molecular mechanism of MS, neurodegeneration

Capt. Yanick Drouin
Aerospace Engineer, Royal Canadian Air Force
Lay Member

Dr. Michael Giuffre
Clinical Professor of Cardiac Services and Pediatrics, University of Calgary, Alberta Children's Hospital
Area of expertise: pediatric cardiology

Dr. Anthony Feinstein
Neuropsychiatrist and Associate Scientist, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centrev
Area of expertise: cognition and emotional behaviour, MRI, effects of medical cannabis

Dr. Marcia Finlayson
Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and Director of School of Rehabilitation Therapy, MS Occupational Therapist, Queen’s University
Area of expertise: rehabilitation therapy, fatigue management, caregiving in MS, Falls in MS

Ms. Valerie Hussey
Chair, National Board of Directors, MS Society of Canada

Dr. Paul Matthews
Head of the Division of Brain Sciences, Department of Medicine, Imperial College, London
Area of expertise: imaging methods, neuropathology, neuroinflammation, neurodegeneration

Dr. Wayne Moore
Clinical Professor and Neuropathologist, University of British Columbia
Area of expertise: MS tissue pathology, MRI

Dr. Trevor Owens
Professor and Head of Research, University of South Denmark
Area of expertise: Neuroimmunology

Dr. Scott Patten
Professor, Departments of Community Health Sciences and Psychiatry, Faculty of Medicine, University of Calgary
Area of expertise: epidemiology of psychiatric disorders

Mr. Cory Turner
President, Spicers Canada
Lay Member

Open navigation